Groove Collective

The acid jazz outfit Groove Collective was formed in downtown New York City in 1990 by flutist Richard Worth, DJ Smash, and rapper Nappy G, all three staples of a nomadic dance club called Giant Step. In time, the trio was joined by keyboardist Itaal Shur, drummer Gengi Siraisi, and bassist Jonathan Maron, earning a growing cult following and eventually attracting the attention of Steely Dan vibist Bill Ware, who soon signed on along with saxophonist Jay Rodriguez, trombonist Josh Roseman, trumpeter Fabio Morgera, and percussionist Chris Theberge. Groove Collective's self-titled debut LP appeared on Reprise in 1993, followed three years later by the GRP label release We the People. The group resurfaced in 1998 with Dance of the Drunken Master. It's All in Your Mind was issued in 2001 with People People Music Music following in 2006.

by Jason Ankeny
All Music Guide

Band Members

Jonathan Maron — bass
DJ Smash — vinyl
Chris Theberge — percussion
Josh Roseman — trombone
Jay Rodriguez — sax
Fabio Morgera — trumpet
Bill Ware — vibraphone
Nappy G — rap vocals
Itaal Shur — keyboards
Genji Siraisi — drums
Richard Worth — flute



6 For Fred
Drunken Master
Earth to Earth
Everybody (We The People)
I Am
Runaway Child
Up All Night

Related links

United Future Organization
Acid Jazz


Developed by nettoweb
Do you really want to delete specified objects?