Vibraphonic was formed in 1990 when a track was commissioned by Acid Jazz Records. I See You was released on a compilation called Totally Wired 6 in June 1990. This was so successful that a second track, Believe In Me was released on Totally Wired 7 in November 1990. I See You was also released on two compilations and as a single in the USA. The first album — also on Acid Jazz — Vibraphonic was released in 1993. A single Trust Me featuring Alison Limerick was also released at the same time. The album was released worldwide and sold over 12,000 copies.

Acid Jazz released a second album — Vibraphonic 2 in 1995 which was very successful in the USA. One track — Can't Get Enough was a hit in the USA staying at No 1 on the Adult Contemporary chart of trade magazine Radio & Record for 4 weeks. At its peak it was being played on 52 of the 53 stations that supply the chart. Vibraphonic 2 sold over 20,000 copies worldwide, 10,000 of those in the USA.

In 1996 Vibraphonic signed to US company Hollywood Records and released 2 albums — A Vibraphonic Christmas (1996) & On A Roll (1997). Both albums picked up substantial radio play in the US but unfortunately were only available in North America.

The line up of the band has changed very little from the beginning and includes Tony Remy on guitar, Nick Cohen on bass, Alison Limerick & Lennox Cameron on vocals, Pete Lewinson or Frank Tontoh on drums and Mark Lockheart on tenor & soprano sax.

Various tracks from all the albums have appeared on numerous compilations and have had regular radio and club plays. At least three tracks have been used as theme tunes or incidental music for TV and radio.

The fifth album Acid Jazzizms was released on StayTuned Records in September 2000. Unfortunately it was unable to get a US release but the album has picked up much radio play on London's Jazz FM.

Back to the list

Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2023