advertisement

Website

1 vote
5,0
 
Please vote

Kool & the Gang

Kool & the Gang

Formed by Robert "Kool" Bell, his brother Ronald Bell and a bunch of their New Jersey teenage friends in the mid-60s (then called the Jazziacs), Kool & the Gang played traditional jazz in regional venues for several years, slowly morphing their style to incorporate emerging funk sounds of Sly and the Family Stone and James Brown. They were signed by the De-Lite label in the early 70's and gathered a small but loyal national following (particularly for their 1971 release Live at the Sex Machine). The group's fortunes exploded in 1974 with Wild and Peaceful, an infectiously raw album that spawned three smash hits, Funky Stuff, Hollywood Swinging, and Jungle Boogie, all featuring great instrumentation and lyrics virtually shouted by the group. However, as quickly as they rode to fame, Kool & the Gang faded, their rough sound appearing out of place against the slick, dance-oriented sounds that began to dominate popular radio in the late 70's.

Kool & the Gang was an afterthought in the music world in 1979 when they brought in the honey-sounding lead James J.T. Taylor and pop/jazz producer Eumir Deodato for one last gasp, a shiny dance album called Ladies Night. Deodato simplified and sweetened the group's jazz stylings in a heavily produced package, fronted by Taylor's irresistible tenor voice. It was an across-the-board smash, leading to two top hits, the title cut and the midtempo Too Hot. It was also the beginning of a nearly unprecedented string of top 10 pop and soul hits for the group that would make Kool & the Gang the top selling soul group of the 80's. Ladies Night was followed by the even bigger Celebrate!, the joyous title cut of which became the theme song of countless sports teams in the 80's and one of the most played songs of the past 25 years. The next five years brought hit after hit, including chart toppers Misled, Cherish, Take My Heart, Joanna, Fresh and Let's Go Dancin'. The infectious innocuousness of their music sometimes went to a silly extreme (Get Down On It), but the group clearly created a catalogue of enjoyable, well performed cuts, both during Deodato's tenure as producer and after they took over the production of their albums in 1983 — songs that have generally aged well. Their 1987 album, Forever, was another smash, but also provided warning sign that the fresh sounds Kool and the Gang introduced in 1979 had run their course and had begun to sound formulaic.

In 1987 Taylor left the group to pursue a modestly successful solo career (he had one major hit with All I Want Is Forever, a duet with Regina Belle), and the group continued on but never had another chart hit. They spent the next decade on the oldies circuit before Taylor rejoined for a 1996 reunion tour and the album State of Affairs, a extremely enjoyable disc (and the group's strongest lyrically) that was unfortunately ignored by both pop and soul radio.

Now a quintet consisting of brothers Robert "Kool" Bell, Ronald Bell (Khalis Bayyan), George Brown, Dennis Thomas and Charles Smith (all original group members), the group tours internationally, and has a particularly large following in Asia. J.T. Taylor has continued his solo career, with limited success.

advertisement
«««
»»»
Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2020 acidjazz.ru
18+

реклама

Аудио

Dujii

Веб-сайт

1 голос
5,0
 
Проголосуйте

Kool & the Gang

Kool & the Gang

Группу Kool & the Gang создали братья Роберт и Рональд Белл с компанией своих друзей из штата Нью-Джерси в середине 60-х (тогда они называли себя The Jazziacs). Поначалу проект исполнял традиционный джаз на сценах местных клубов, постепенно эволюционируя в сторону фанка, музыки Sly & the Family Stone и James Brown. В начале 70-х Kool & the Gang подписывают контракт со студией De-Lite и собирают вокруг себя небольшую, но верную национальную аудиторию, в частности, после выхода альбома Live at the Sex Machine в 1971 году. Фортуна улыбнулась группе в 1974 — альбом Wild and Peaceful оказался чрезвычайно популярным с его ударными хитами Funky Stuff, Hollywood Swinging и Jungle Boogie, отличавшимися качественным исполнением и энергичными текстами. Однако, с течением времени возникшая слава постепенно угасала — аудитория выбирала лёгкую и непринуждённую музыку диско, набиравшую обороты в конце 70-х.

Kool & the Gang запоздало возвращаются на большую сцену в 1979, пригласив в группу сладкоголосого James J. T. Taylor (не путать с британцем Джеймсом Тейлором) и знаменитого клавишника Eumir Deodato в качестве продюсера для записи яркого и красочного альбома Ladies Night. Deodato упрощает и украшает джазовую стилистику группы, а Тейлор сражает наповал аудиторию своим неповторимым вокалом. Альбом оказался для группы тузом в рукаве и вывел в чарты два хита, заглавную композицию и знаменитую Too Hot, в 90-е годы переработанную рэппером Coolio, а также положил начало беспрецедентному успеху группы в 80-х. После Ladies Night был издан ещё более успешный Celebrate!, заглавная пьеса из которого исполнялась бессчётное количество раз на телевидении и была признана одной из самых популярных композиций за прошедшие 25 лет. Последующие годы порадовали аудиторию такими хитами, как Misled, Cherish, Take My Heart, Joanna, Fresh и Let's Go Dancin'. Подкупающая простота и заразительность композиций группы иногда доходила до предела, как например, в композиции Get Down On It, но за свою карьеру музыкантам удалось создать целый ряд успешных, прекрасно исполненных, не меркнущих со временем хитов, — как в период работы с Deodato, так и после 1983 года, когда группа самостоятельно начала продюсировать свои записи. Альбом 1987 года Forever также был успешным, но аудитория услышала в нём первые признаки того, что звучание группы устаревает и начинает выглядеть сделанным по шаблону.

В 1987 году Тейлор уходит из группы, чтобы начать сольную карьеру, оказавшуюся, правда, не очень успешной, — Джеймс прославился только одним крупным хитом, All I Want Is Forever, записанным дуэтом с Regina Belle. Группа продолжает существование, но уже не попадает на верхние строки чартов. Следующее десятилетие музыканты в основном исполняли старые хиты. Тейлор вновь присоединился к группе в 1996 году для серии концертов и записи удачного альбома State of Affairs, к сожалению, проигнорированного поп- и соул-радиостанциями.

Сегодня квинтет составляют братья Белл, George Brown, Dennis Thomas и Charles Smith. Группа имеет своих преданных поклонников и часто гастролирует (особой популярностью творчество музыкантов пользуется в Азии), а James J. T. Taylor продолжает сольную карьеру с переменным успехом.

реклама
«««
»»»
Создание сайта — nettoweb
©1999 — 2018 acidjazz.ru
18+