advertisement

Instinct Records

Instinct Records

Founded as a dance label in a Greenwich Village living room, Instinct Records first gained prominence in 1990 with the success of the label's first signing, Moby, one of the most durable stars of the early 90's rave scene. Instinct built on that early success quickly by releasing seminal recordings from such labels as Rising High, Pod, Kickin’ and Antler Subway.

Over the years Instinct's reputation grew on an international scale, having put out groundbreaking releases in the US via such innovative overseas labels as Compost (from whom the Future Sound of Jazz series was introduced in the US), Fax (Pete Namlook), Groove Attack Prod. (Plug In, Turn On), Time Recordings (EMIT), and Infracom.

Through the middle 90's, Instinct's electronic focus brought it closer towards the alternative circuit. Early work with bands such as Messiah, Cabaret Voltaire and The Drum Club inevitably lead to recent work with The Creatures, Jimmy Somerville, Marc Almond and Sarah Cracknell.

In addition to pioneering the introduction of techno and rave music in America, Instinct became known for its parallel emphasis on the acid jazz scene. This Is Acid Jazz series was the ultimate U.S. source of reference for the genre and was one of the most popular acid jazz series in the U.S. Instinct introduced many of the key bands in the scene during these years, including K-Collective (Brand New Heavies), James Taylor Quartet and Exodus (Eric Hilton of Thievery Corporation).

While immersed in acid jazz, underground, and alternative music, Instinct also moved in a distinctly commercial direction as it expanded to become one of the key players in the smooth jazz genre. With a roster of contemporary jazz artists including Gota, Count Basic, Soundscape UK, Shakatak, Chris Standring, and Brian Tarquin, Instinct has earned its reputation, garnering many nominations and awards as the best Independent Smooth Jazz label.

In 1995 Shadow Records was launched to focus on the more organic side of the underground scene pioneering the trip-hop and electronica genres in the US. Notable artists from the Shadow roster include DJ Krush, DJ Cam, Kruder & Dorfmeister, and Jack Dangers, as well as America's introduction to Ninja Tune Records.

Back to the list

advertisement
Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2021 acidjazz.ru
18+

реклама

Instinct Records

Instinct Records

Основанная как танцевальный лейбл, американская студия Instinct Records впервые получила признание в 1990 году на фоне успеха своего артиста Moby, одного из самых долгоиграющих звёздных исполнителей начала 90-х. Instinct быстро закрепила свой успех, переиздавая для американского рынка релизы таких лейблов, как Rising High, Pod, Kickin’ и Antler Subway.

С годами репутация Instinct на международном уровне росла, поскольку она выпускала самые инновационные и актуальные издания в Соединённых Штатах в сотрудничестве с передовыми заокеанскими лейблами, такими как Compost (в США была представлена серия сборников Future Sound of Jazz), Fax (Pete Namlook), Groove Attack Prod. (Plug In, Turn On), Time Recordings (EMIT) и Infracom.

В середине 90-х фокус студии Instinct сместился ближе к альтернативной электронной музыке. Раннее сотрудничество с группами, такими как Messiah, Cabaret Voltaire и The Drum Club, неизбежно привело к дальнейшей работе с The Creatures, Jimmy Somerville, Marc Almond и Sarah Cracknell.

Помимо знакомства с техно и рейвом и их продвижению в Америке, Instinct получила широкую известность как популяризатор музыки в стиле acid jazz. Серия This Is Acid Jazz служила неиссякаемым источником новой музыки для американского слушателя, а также была в числе наиболее популярных сборников этого жанра в Америке. Instinct представила множество ключевых брендов на сцене за эти годы, включая коллектив K-Collective (Brand New Heavies), James Taylor Quartet и Exodus (Eric Hilton из Thievery Corporation).

Работая в стилях acid jazz и других стилях андеграундной альтернативной музыки, Instinct также отчётливо двигалась и в коммерческом направлении, постепенно превратившись в ключевой лейбл для музыки smooth jazz. Располагая в своём каталоге такими исполнителями, как Gota, Count Basic, Soundscape UK, Shakatak, Chris Standring и Brian Tarquin, Instinct завоевала уверенную репутацию, собрав множество номинаций и наград как лучший независимый лейбл в стиле smooth jazz.

В 1995 была запущена Shadow Records, чтобы сделать акцент на более органичной стороне андеграундного спектра и продвигать трип-хоп и электронные жанры в США. В список примечательных исполнителей Shadow входят DJ Krush, DJ Cam, Kruder & Dorfmeister и Jack Dangers. Ещё одной заслугой Instinct является знакомство Америки с изданиями студии Ninja Tune Records.

К списку

реклама
Создание сайта — nettoweb
©1999 — 2021 acidjazz.ru
18+