All for You

Diana Krall

©1996 Impulse!

1. I'm an Errand Girl for Rhythm
2. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
3. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)
4. The Frim Fram Sauce
5. The Boulevard of Broken Dreams
6. Baby, Baby All the Time
7. Hit That Jive, Jack!
8. You're Looking at Me
9. I'm Through with Love
10. 'Deed I Do
11. A Blossom Fell
12. If I Had You
Benny Green Piano
Paul Keller Bass
Diana Krall Piano, Vocals
Steve Kroon Percussion
Russell Malone Guitar

Pianist/vocalist Diana Krall pays tribute to the Nat King Cole Trio on her Impulse! set. In general, the medium and up-tempo tunes work best, particularly such hot ditties as I'm an Errand Girl for Rhythm, Frim Fram Sauce, and Hit That Jive Jack. Krall does not attempt to directly copy Cole much (either pianistically or vocally), although his influence is obviously felt on some of the songs. The slow ballads are actually as reminiscent of Shirley Horn as Cole, particularly the somber I'm Through With Love and If I Had You. Guitarist Russell Malone gets some solo space on many of the songs and joins in on the group vocal of Hit That Jive Jack, although it is surprising that he had no other opportunities to interact vocally with Krall; a duet could have been delightful. Bassist Paul Keller is fine in support, pianist Benny Green backs Krall's vocal on If I Had You, and percussionist Steve Kroon is added on one song. Overall, this is a tasteful effort that succeeds.

by Scott Yanow
All Music Guide


Developed by nettoweb
Do you really want to delete specified objects?