advertisement

Band Members

Matt Deighton — guitar
Neil Corcoran — bass
Chris White — drums
Bryn Barklam — Hammond organ


Audio

Apple Green
Jesse
Mister Freedom

1 vote
4,0
 
Please vote

Mother Earth

Mother Earth

The UK's "acid jazz" craze gained momentum in the mid-80s, when the original Acid Jazz Records label began to capitalize on the swelling interest in jazz, by encouraging a series of crossover bands who were mixing the music with funk and creating a danceable but harmonically rich, essentially live sound. As more and more London-based musicians began looking to the 70s, and projects led by Herbie Hancock, Billy Cobham or Lonnie Liston Smith, for inspiration, Mother Earth came together in 1990. Formed by Matt Deighton (vocals/guitar), Neil Corcoran (bass) and Chris White (drums), the band originally included additional vocalists Shauna Greene and Bunny aka Stephen Bunn.

Mother Earth's first recordings The 5th Quadrant and Riot On 103rd Street on the Totally Wired 6 and Totally Wired 7 Acid Jazz compilations swiftly gained the band a cult popularity and a recording contract with the label. A funky, Hammond organ-led affair very much in the jazz funk mould, their debut Stoned Woman was released in 1992, and the band quickly followed up with a hectic tour schedule, establishing a trendy, retro stage image heavy on flared trousers and sheepskin. Bryn Barklam (Hammond organ) had joined the line-up by this stage (although credited on the band's debut he did not play on it). If Stoned Woman suffered from an occasional blandness and lack of musical direction, the newly slimmed down quartet of Deighton, Corcoran, White and Barklam tightened things up in 1994, with the release of The People Tree. Harder and funkier, with catchier tunes such as Apple Green and the sublime ballad Jesse (featuring backing vocals by ex-Style Council singer D.C. Lee), The People Tree featured guest appearances by Paul Weller and popular Acid Jazz percussionist Snowboy, and represented a significant change in direction for the band, who were now looking towards 70s funk rock for a tougher, Santana-influenced sound. Deighton released a wistful solo set, Villager, before Mother Earth returned with another strong collection, You Have Been Watching. White was replaced by Jose Hadaway for a brief period in 1996, featuring on the live album The Desired Effect, but the departure of main songwriter Deighton led to the band's hasty demise.

One of Acid Jazz's more interesting acts, Mother Earth never enjoyed the commercial success their music deserved. Lead vocalist Deighton went on to play guitar with Oasis and in Paul Weller's touring band as well as continuing his low-key solo career. Much to the delight of their cult following, the four original members of Mother Earth reunited in 2001 to play a series of live shows.

advertisement
Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2019 acidjazz.ru
18+

Участники группы

Мэтт Дейтон — гитара
Нил Коркоран — бас-гитара
Крис Уайт — барабаны
Брин Бэрклэм — орган Hammond


Слушать

Apple Green
Jesse
Mister Freedom


Веб-сайт

mother-earth.info

Mother Earth

1 голос
4,0
Проголосуйте
 
Mother Earth

Британское увлечение музыкой «эсид-джаз» получило новый импульс в середине 80-х, когда студия Acid Jazz Records начала активное продвижение новой волны музыкантов, соединявших джаз и фанк в новую для того времени музыку, — танцевальную, но в то же время живую и гармонически насыщенную. Всё больше музыкантов искали источники вдохновения в 70-х, в проектах Херби Хенкока и Билли Кобэма, — а в 1990-м пришло время собраться и Mother Earth. Оригинальный состав включал Мэтта Дейтона (вокал/гитара), Нила Коркорана (бас-гитара) и Криса Уайта (барабаны), а также вокалистов Шону Грин и Стивена Банна.

Появление их композиций на сборниках Totally Wired 6 и Totally Wired 7 студии Acid Jazz Records спровоцировало всплеск популярности и подписание отдельного контракта со студией. Первый альбом команды, Stoned Woman, выпущенный в 1992, был выдержан в необычном стиле, замешанном на джазе и фанке с добавлениями органа Hammond. Сразу после выхода альбома группа отправилась в чрезвычайно востребованный и насыщенный тур, задавая новый ретро-стандарт внешнего вида музыкантов на сцене, — расклёшенные брюки и дублёнки из овечьей шерсти. Во время живых выступлений к команде также присоединялся Брин Бэрклэм (орган Hammond), и хотя он и был указан в списке создателей дебютного альбома, в работе над ним он в действительности участия не принимал. Критики отмечали излишнюю мягкость и расплывчатость первого CD, поэтому к 1994-му квартет в составе Дейтона, Коркорана, Уайта и Бэрклэма выпускает следующий альбом, The People Tree, — более определённый и музыкальный. Во второй CD вошли несколько запоминающихся композиций, таких как Apple Green и баллада Jesse, а к работе над ним были приглашены звёзды Acid Jazz Records, такие как перкуссионист Snowboy и гитарист Пол Веллер. The People Tree ознаменовал новое, более твёрдое звучание группы, с ориентацией на 70-е. Перед тем, как Mother Earth выпустила свой следующий CD, You Have Been Watching, Дейтон успел записать несколько задумчивый сольный альбом Villager. Группа сменила Уайта на другого барабанщика, Хосе Хэдэвея, который выступал с ними на живых концертах в 1996-м, однако, последующий уход из коллектива основателя Мэтта Дейтона привёл к скорому забвению команды.

После фактического распада группы Мэтт Дейтон какое-то время провёл в гастролях с Oasis, также выступая с группой Пола Веллера. В 2001 году четверо первоначальных участников Mother Earth вновь собрались, чтобы отыграть серию живых концертов как дань своей популярности в 90-х. Примечательно, что за всю историю Acid Jazz Records один из их самых интересных коллективов — Mother Earth — так и не обрёл заслуженного коммерческого успеха.

Альбомы

People Tree
 
1993
Stoned Woman
 
1992
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Создание сайта — nettoweb ©1999 — 2017 acidjazz.ru 18+