Band Members

Paul Godfrey — DJ
Ross Godfrey — guitar, keyboards
Skye Edwards — vocals
Daisy Martey — vocals


Similar Artists


Audio

Antidote
Be Yourself
Blue Chair
Let It Go
Let Me See
Otherwise
People Carrier
Rome Wasn't Built In A Day
Run Honey Run
Shoulder Holster
Small Town
The Sea
Trigger Hippie
Undress Me Now
Women Lose Weight

1 vote
4,0
 
Please vote

Morcheeba

Morcheeba

Morcheeba, one of the most famous trip-hop commands of 90s, was formed in the United Kingdom after the Godfrey brothers met Skye Edwards at a party. DJ Paul and multi-instrumentalist Ross proposed the girl to become the soloist in their project and she agreed. Soon the China label paid attention to the band. In 1996, the American Discovery studio released their debut work Who Can You Trust?, singles Trigger Hippie and Music That We Hear being the main attractions of the album. The stylish combination of pop music, blues and funk along with the extremely melodic vocals by Edwards fluently surrounded the Morcheeba band with an army of fans. Next year the collective headed to their first tour around the USA — together with Live and Fiona Apple. In 1998, Morcheeba supported the success with the Big Calm album.

In 2000, the single called Rome Wasn't Built In A Day from the third album Fragments Of Freedom brought Morcheeba to international fame. In 2002, the Charango disc amused the listeners with sweet tunes of the singles Otherwise, Way Beyond and Undress Me Now. The Morcheeba trio chose a wonderful trip-hop composition What's Your Name? as the lead single for the best hits collection Parts Of The Process. However, after this compilation the Godfrey brothers and their vocalist parted ways — as they had different views over the future Morcheeba progress. The Godfrey brothers invited Daisy Martey — former participant of Noonday Underground — as the new soloist and recorded the acoustic album The Antidote, which featured the whimsy fusion of pop music and psychedelia. This cooperation with Martey finished in a rather sharp way after the album release — and did not benefit to the image of the band. Jody Sternberg became the guest singer for The Antidote support tour by Morcheeba.

Musical critics and fans did not expect discs by Morcheeba in the nearest future — however, the Godfrey brothers astonished everyone with their band new creation Dive Deep in the beginning of 2008. They gave Jody Sternberg, who became the Morcheeba voice for their last tour, the place of the lead vocalist. Moreover, one can hear the voices of other performers on the Dive Deep album — they are French singer Manda, who linked to the musicians through the Internet and told Paul and Ross about her dream of recording with them, English hereditary vocalist with Polish roots Judy Tzuke, along with Thomas Dybdahl and Cool Calm Pete. The Dive Deep itself is worked out rather in the lounge clue with pop slant than in the familiar to the fans trip-hop direction.

advertisement
Rome Wasn't Built in a Day
Rome Wasn't Built in a Day
 
Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2020 acidjazz.ru
18+

Участники группы

Пол Годфри — DJ
Росс Годфри — гитара, клавишные
Скай Эдвардс — вокал
Дэйзи Мэрти — вокал


Похожие артисты

Massive Attack
Portishead


Слушать

Antidote
Be Yourself
Blue Chair
Let It Go
Let Me See
Otherwise
People Carrier
Rome Wasn't Built In A Day
Run Honey Run
Shoulder Holster
Small Town
The Sea
Trigger Hippie
Undress Me Now
Women Lose Weight


Читайте также

Skye (голос Morcheeba)


Morcheeba

Проголосуйте
 
Проголосуйте
 
Morcheeba

Одна из самых известных трип-хоп-команд 90-х годов Morcheeba появилась в Соединённом королевстве после того, как на одной из вечеринок музыканты братья Годфри познакомились со Скай Эдвардс. Ди-джей Пол и мульти-инструменталист Росс предложили девушке стать солисткой в их проекте, и она согласилась. Вскоре командой заинтересовалась студия China, а в 1996 году лейбл American Discovery выпустил их дебютную работу Who Can You Trust?, главными украшениями которой стали синглы Trigger Hippie и Music That We Hear. Стильное смешение поп-музыки, блюза и фанка в сочетании с необычайно мелодичным вокалом Эдвардз быстро подарили группе Morcheeba армию поклонников, а на следующий год коллектив отправился в турне по США — в компании с Live и Фионой Эппл. В 1998 году Morcheeba закрепили свой успех альбомом Big Calm.

В 2000 году сингл Rome Wasn't Built In A Day с третьей работы команды Fragments Of Freedom принёс Morcheeba мировую славу. Диск 2002 года Charango запомнился слушателям мелодичными напевами синглов Otherwise, Way Beyond и Undress Me Now. Morcheeba выбрали отличную трип-хоп-композицию What's Your Name? лид-синглом для сборника своих лучших хитов Parts Of The Process. Но после этой компиляции пути братьев Годфри и их вокалистки разошлись из-за разницы во взглядах на будущее Morcheeba. Братья Годфри приняли Дэйзи Мэрти — бывшую участницу команды Noonday Underground — в качестве новой солистки и записали с ней акустический альбом The Antidote, на котором причудливо смешали поп-музыку и психоделию. Однако на этом альбоме сотрудничество с Мэрти и завершилось — и далеко не самым дружелюбным образом, что нанесло значительный удар по имиджу группы. Для тура в поддержку альбома Morcheeba пригласили Джоди Штернберг.

Музыкальные критики и поклонники не ожидали, что Morcheeba запишет в ближайшем будущем что-то новое, однако братья Годфри удивили всех своим свежим творением Dive Deep в начале 2008 года. В качестве новой вокалистки они утвердили Джоди Штернберг, ставшую голосом Morcheeba на время их последнего тура. Однако на Dive Deep можно также услышать голоса других исполнителей — француженки Manda, связавшейся с музыкантами через Интернет и рассказавшей Полу и Россу о давней мечте записаться с Morcheeba, англичанки с польскими корнями и потомственной артистки Джуди Тцук, а также Томаса Дибдала и Cool Calm Pete. Сама работа Dive Deep выполнена, скорее, в лаунж-ключе с уклоном в поп-музыку, нежели в привычном для поклонников стиле трип-хоп.

muzobzor.ru

Альбомы

Head Up High
 
2013
Dive Deep
 
2008
The Antidote
 
2005
Charango
 
2002
Big Calm
 
1998
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Создание сайта — nettoweb ©1999 — 2017 acidjazz.ru 18+