advertisement

Kenny G

Kenny G

A phenomenally successful instrumentalist whose recordings routinely made the pop, r&b, and jazz charts during the 1980s and '90s, Kenny G's sound became a staple on adult contemporary and smooth jazz radio stations. He's a fine player with an attractive sound (influenced a bit by Grover Washington, Jr.) who often caresses melodies, putting a lot of emotion into his solos. Because he does not improvise much (sticking mostly to predictable melody statements), his music largely falls outside of jazz. However, because he is listed at the top of "contemporary jazz" charts and is identified with jazz in the minds of the mass public, he is classified as jazz.

Kenny Gorelick started playing professionally with Barry White's Love Unlimited Orchestra in 1976. He recorded with Cold, Bold & Together (a Seattle-based funk group) and freelanced locally. After graduating from the University of Washington, Kenny G worked with Jeff Lorber Fusion, making two albums with the group. Soon he was signed to Arista, recording his debut as a leader in 1982. His fourth album, Duotones (which included the very popular Songbird), made him into a star. Soon he was in demand for guest appearances on recordings of such famous singers as Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, and Natalie Cole. Kenny G's own records have sold remarkably well, particularly Breathless, which has easily topped eight million copies in the U.S.; his total album sales top 30 million copies. The holiday album Miracles, released in 1994, and 1996's Moment continued the momentum of his massive commercial success. He also recorded his own version of the Celine Dion / Titanic smash My Heart Will Go On in 1998, but the following year he released Classics in the Key of G, a collection of jazz standards like 'Round Midnight and Body and Soul, possibly to reclaim some jazz credibility.

Faith: A Holiday Album was released that same year, followed by a limited-edition re-release of the 1997 Greatest Hits disc. In 2002 Kenny G dipped into tropical territory with Paradise, which featured guest appearances by Brian McKnight and Chanté Moore. This was followed by a music video collection, another holiday album, entitled Wishes, and, in 2003, a second greatest-hits collection, Ultimate Kenny G. Perhaps in a bid to shake up his discography a bit, in 2004 Kenny G released At Last… The Duets Album, which featured "duets" with LeAnn Rimes and Chaka Khan. Two years later, smooth jazz's king of the soprano sax returned to a purely instrumental approach on the brassy, big-band-inspired albums Holiday Collection and I'm in the Mood for Love.

In 2008, Kenny G released the Latin-inspired Rhythm and Romance. The sax player next drifted toward r&b for 2010's Heart and Soul, which featured guest vocals from Robin Thicke and Babyface. A collection with Rahul Sharma called Namaste followed in 2012, and in 2015 Kenny G released a tribute to bossa nova titled Brazilian Nights, which peaked at number one on the Billboard Jazz Albums chart. In 2017, G kept up his active concert schedule, even pairing with fellow smooth jazz legend George Benson for the limited engagement Breezin' & Breathless Tour.

by Matt Collar
All Music Guide

Back to the list

advertisement
«««
»»»
Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2022 acidjazz.ru
18+

реклама

Kenny G

Kenny G

Феноменально успешный инструменталист, чьи пластинки регулярно попадали в чарты поп-музыки, r&b и джаза в 1980-х и 90-х годах, Кенни Джи ознаменовал собой новое звучание, которое стало доминирующим на adult contemporary и smooth-jazz-радиостанциях. Кенни Джи — прекрасный музыкант, обладающий притягательным звучанием, сформировавшимся под влиянием Гровера Вашингтона-младшего, который известен своими нежными и эмоциональными соло. Поскольку Кенни Джи мало импровизирует, придерживаясь, в основном, предсказуемых, мелодичных ходов, его музыка в значительной степени находится вне джазовых рамок. Однако, он регулярно попадает на вершины чартов современного джаза, отождествляется с джазом в сознании массовой публики, и его музыка всё же относится к джазу.

Кенни Джи (Кеннет Горелик) начал профессионально играть с оркестром Барри Уайта Love Unlimited в 1976 году. Он записывался с Cold, Bold & Together (фанк-группой из Сиэтла) и подрабатывал музыкантом в округе. После окончания Вашингтонского университета Кенни Джи работал с группой Jeff Lorber Fusion, записав с ними два альбома. Вскоре он подписал контракт с лейблом Arista, издав свой дебютный альбом в 1982 году. Его четвёртый альбом, Duotones, в который входила очень популярная композиция Songbird, уже сделал его звездой. Вскоре его стали приглашать в качестве гостя на записях таких известных певиц, как Арета Франклин, Уитни Хьюстон и Натали Коул. Собственные записи Кенни Джи тоже продавались на удивление хорошо. Альбом Breathless легко преодолел планку в восемь миллионов копий в США, а во всём мире суммарный тираж альбомов Кенни Джи превышает 30 миллионов копий. Праздничный альбом Miracles, выпущенный в 1994 году, и Moment 1996 года продолжили импульс его огромного коммерческого успеха. Он также записал свою собственную версию хита Селин Дион из фильма «Титаник» My Heart Will Go On в 1998 году, а в следующем году выпустил кавер-альбом Classics in the Key of G — сборник джазовых стандартов, таких как 'Round Midnight и Body and Soul, возможно, для укреплениях своих позиций в джазовом мире.

В том же году был выпущен альбом Faith: A Holiday Album, за которым последовало переиздание диска Greatest Hits 1997 года ограниченным тиражом. В 2002 году Кенни Джи оказался на тропической территории с альбомом Paradise, где в качестве гостей выступали Брайан Макнайт и Шанте Мур. Затем вышла коллекция музыкальных видео, ещё один праздничный альбом под названием Wishes, и в 2003 году — вторая коллекция величайших хитов, Ultimate Kenny G. В попытке немного разнообразить свою дискографию в 2004 году Кенни Джи выпустил At Last… The Duets Album, на котором были представлены его «дуэты» с Лиэнн Раймс и Чакой Хан. Два года спустя король сопрано-саксофона и смус-джаза вернулся c инструментальным подходом на вдохновлённых биг-бэндом и насыщенных духовым звучанием альбомах Holiday Collection и I'm in the Mood for Love.

В 2008 году Кенни Джи попал на 14 место в чарте Billboard 200 с альбомом Rhythm and Romance. На r&b-альбоме Heart and Soul 2010 года приглашёнными вокалистами выступили Робин Тик и Babyface. В 2012 году последовал сборник с индийским музыкантом Рахулом Шармой под названием Namaste, а в 2015 году Кенни Джи выпустил альбом-приношение босанове под названием Brazilian Nights, который занял первое место в чарте джазовых альбомов Billboard. В 2017 году Кенни продолжил свой активный концертный график, объединившись с своим коллегой, ещё одной легендой смус-джаза Джорджем Бенсоном для ограниченного концертного тура Breezin' & Breathless Tour.

К списку

реклама
Создание сайта — nettoweb
©1999 — 2022 acidjazz.ru
18+