Alexey Popov — sax
Igor Shilov — trumpet
Alexey Nikonov — keyboards
Victor Savich — bass
Peter Mikheeev — drums
Nikolay Gruzdev — guitar


See also

Four & More
Lera Gehner
SPb Funk Alliance


Audio

A. M.
Acid Man
E-Hop
Friends Again
Jazz 4 Haas
Splash
The Nostalgie of Picadilly Square
Wasabi

4 votes
4,5
 
Please vote

Doo-Bop Sound

Doo-Bop Sound

The secret of Doo-Bop Sound provokes a strong interest among the jazz- lovers of the intense, timbre-active modern jazz. Uniting the rhythmic of the jazz-rock with electronic sounds of keyboards and at other times also a saxophone, with masterly improvisations in the manner of stop jazz, filling the compositions with funky rhymes, the band has occupied a fitting place in a musical club culture of St. Petersburg. One of the important features of the sextet — their own original compositions. And if a jazz standard is on the way, then in the hands of the band this standard gets a new form, which one can not foresee, because the fantasy of the musicians is unlimited and the irrepressible energy holds the listeners' attention during the performance. Doo-Bop Sound is the only band in Russia, which creatively uses the heritage of Miles Davis.

The Doo-Bop Sound band was created in January 1997 in St.Petersburg. Their first performances took place in jazz and underground clubs, and as a result their first "sample" CD Live and Funky was released.

Accumulating new compositions and ideas and being led to the success with the help of the gifted leader Alexey Popov, the band little by little has been growing more and more popular. People have started talking about it, their live performances have been coming to light. The band successfully played at the festival "Slavyanski Bazar" (Slavic Bazaar) in summer 1999, and in autumn 1999 the "Jazz-Kvadrat" (Jazz-Square) magazine published an interview with the band.

The presentation of the first official album Acid Man took place on December 30, 2000. The album has been released on the "Bomba-Piter" label and consists of 15 excellent tracks. This disc features a lot of performers: from famous jazz vocalists to DJ Primat. The disk has been recorded at the "Benefis" studio in St.Petersburg and produced by "Volkswagen" concern and the famous jazz critic, the author of the Petersburg jazz encyclopedia Vladimir Feyertag.

Another great cooperation experience was Lera Gehner Project. Lera's charming vocal reveals new horizons for band professional growth; project's live perfomances never leave the public indifferent. Today I'm Part Of You, Dear... CD which was out in 2004 had a great success among St.Petersburg jazz audience.

Currently the project leader Alexey Popov has been working with talented drummer from Moscow Petr Ivshin. Their CD recorded with other great local musicians was just released under the name "St. Petersburg Funk Alliance".

english text
by Yaroslav Senshin

Back to the list

advertisement
Live in JFC Jazz Club
Live in JFC Jazz Club
 

Acid Man Acid Man

 

2000

 

 

 

 

 

 

Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2021 acidjazz.ru
18+

Участники группы

Алексей Попов — саксофон
Игорь Шилов — труба
Алексей Никонов — клавишные
Виктор Савич — бас-гитара
Пётр Михеев — барабаны
Николай Груздев — гитара


Похожие артисты

Four & More
Lera Gehner
SPb Funk Alliance


Слушать

A.M.
Acid Man
E-Hop
Friends Again
Jazz 4 Haas
Say "Hey-Hey"
Splash
The Nostalgie of Picadilly Square
Wasabi


Doo-Bop Sound

4 голоса
4,5
Проголосуйте
 
Doo-Bop Sound

Секрет Doo-Bop Sound уже несколько лет вызывает стойкий интерес у любителей напряжённого, темброво-активного современного джаза. Соединив ритмику джаз-рока с электронными звучаниями клавишных инструментов, а иногда и саксофона, с виртуозными импровизациями в духе ладового джаза, насытив композиции рифмами в стиле фанк, группа заняла видное место в клубной музыкальной культуре Петербурга. Одно из важных качеств секстета — наличие собственных оригинальных композиций. Ну а если под руку попадается известный стандарт, то он приобретает новую неповторимую форму, предугадать которую невозможно, ибо фантазия музыкантов неисчерпаема, а неуёмная энергетика удерживает внимание слушателей в течение всего концерта. Doo-Bop Sound — единственный ансамбль в стране, творчески использующий наследие Майлса Дэвиса.

Группа Doo-Bop Sound была создана в январе 1997 года в Санкт-Петербурге. Их первые выступления проходили в джаз- и андеграунд-клубах, итогом которых стал из первый «пробный» CD Live and Funky.

Под успешным руководством лидера Алексея Попова группа постепенно становилась всё более популярной. О ней стали говорить, их выступления становились всё более известными. Летом 1999 года группа с успехом выступила на фестивале «Славянский базар», а осенью журнал «Jazz-Квадрат» опубликовал интервью с Doo-Bop Sound.

30 декабря 2000 года состоялась презентация первого официального альбома группы Acid Man. Альбом вышел на лейбле «Бомба-Питер» и содержит 15 превосходных треков. Диск был записан с участием многих исполнителей: от известных джазовых вокалисток до DJ Примата. Запись проходила на студии «Бенефис» в Санкт-Петербурге, а продюсерами выступили концерн Volkswagen и известный джазовый критик, автор питерской джазовой энциклопедии, Владимир Фейертаг.

Ещё одной вехой развития проекта стало сотрудничество с талантливой джазовой вокалисткой Лерой Гехнер. Её вокал открывает новые горизонты для творческого развития музыкантов, а на живых выступлениях с её участием публика не скрывает своего восторга.

Альбомы

Live in Moscow
 
2004
Acid Man
 
2000
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Галерея

Создание сайта — nettoweb ©1999 — 2017 acidjazz.ru 18+