advertisement


Audio

Automatic / Sexomatic
Duende
Porcupine
When You Think About Me

A Man Called Adam

A Man Called Adam

A Man Called Adam are the British electronic band founded by Sally Rodgers, Steve Jones and Paul Daley. Although chart success eluded the band, they are regarded as pivotal in the development of the electronic music genres, acid jazz and Balearic house. Test Pressing magazine described them as "Britain’s unsung pop heroes."

Recording for DJ Gilles Peterson’s fledgling Acid Jazz Records label, A Man Called Adam found that it was the remixed B-sides, Techno Powers and Amoeba — electronic versions of the A-side tracks, that became cult records, bridging the divide between the jazz, rare groove and acid house scenes.

AMCA later moved to Big Life Records and released Barefoot In The Head. Produced by Sally Rodgers, Steve Jones and sound engineer Mat Clark, the track features choral pads and strings coupled with bouncing Roland 909 and 727 rhythm tracks.

Around the same time, Paul Daley left the band to form Leftfield. Rodgers and Jones, went on to release their debut album The Apple in 1991. Following the release of several singles from the LP (I Want To Know, The Chrono Psionic Interface and Bread, Love And Dreams), AMCA left Big Life to set up their own label, Other Records.

Through the mid-1990s, AMCA released several singles and contributed to Café del Mar series of compilation albums, as well as creating a side project, Beachflea, and their Planet Jazz and Other Stuff compilations on Other Records. Rodgers also compiled High In a Basement for Heavenly Records, a selection of works from notable British artists and labels such as Faze Action and Reel Houze.

The second AMCA album, Duende, was released in 1998 and included the singles Easter Song, ¿Que Tal America? and All My Favourite People. It also featured the song Estelle, which though never released as a single, continues to be included on numerous chill out compilations.

A third AMCA compilation All My Favourite… was released in 2004 on Norman Cooke's Southern Fried label, and featured a selection of songs from the two previous albums alongside several new songs. It also included an acoustic version of their signature song, Barefoot In The Head, which was released as a single.

In March 2019, A Man Called Adam bounced back into the scene with their album Farmarama.

Back to the list

advertisement

Farmarama Farmarama

 

2019

Duende Duende

 

1998

The Apple The Apple

 

1991

 

 

 

 

 

 

Site developed by nettoweb
©1999 — 2021 acidjazz.ru
18+

реклама


Аудио

Automatic / Sexomatic
Duende
Porcupine
When You Think About Me

A Man Called Adam

A Man Called Adam

A Man Called Adam — британская группа, основанная Sally Rodgers, Steve Jones и Paul Daley. Хотя музыканты не пользовались успехом на просторах хит-парадов, они считаются одними из центральных фигур в развитии электронной музыки, эсид-джаза и балеарского хауса. Журнал Test Pressing назвал AMCA «британскими невоспетыми героями популярной музыки».

Записывая свои первые релизы на новом лейбле Acid Jazz Records, основанном ди-джеем Джайлсом Петерсоном, A Man Called Adam обнаружили, что хитами оказались именно их электронные ремиксы с обратной стороны пластинки. Треки, такие как Techno Powers и Amoeba, выстраивали мосты между джазом, rare groove и музыкой acid house. Barefoot In The Head, изданный позже на Big Life Records, содержит вокал и струнные, сведённые со звучанием синтезаторов Roland 909 и 727.

Примерно в то же время Paul Daley покинул группу и основал собственный проект Leftfield. Роджерс и Джонс продолжили совместную работу над дебютным альбомом The Apple, вышедшим в 1991 году. После релиза нескольких синглов с альбома (I Want To Know, The Chrono Psionic Interface и Bread, Love And Dreams) AMCA покинули Big Life Records и организовали собственный лейбл, Other Records.

В середине 1990-х AMCA выпустили ряд синглов и участвовали в создании серии сборных альбомов студии Café del Mar. Параллельно группа работала над сторонним проектом Beachflea и собственными сборниками Planet Jazz и Other Stuff студии Other Records. Роджерс также компилировал сборник High In a Basement для Heavenly Records, составленный из работ известных британских исполнителей, таких как Faze Action и Reel Houze.

Второй альбом AMCA Duende был выпущен в 1998, в него вошли синглы Easter Song, ¿Que Tal America? и All My Favourite People. Композиция Estelle из второго альбома никогда не издавалась как сингл, но вместе с тем, её продолжают включать в многочисленные подборки chillout-музыки.

Компиляция All My Favourite… вышла в 2004 на лейбле Southern Fried. Она была собрана из композиций двух предыдущих альбомов наряду с новыми композициями. В релиз вошла акустическая версия визитной карточки группы, их фирменной Barefoot In The Head, которая была издана и как сингл.

В марте 2019 A Man Called Adam вернулись на сцену с новым альбомом Farmarama.

К списку

реклама

Farmarama Farmarama

 

2019

Duende Duende

 

1998

The Apple The Apple

 

1991

 

 

 

 

 

 

Создание сайта — nettoweb
©1999 — 2021 acidjazz.ru
18+